Newsletter Search Facebook Vimeo Twitter YouTube Instagram Deutsch

Events Upcoming


20 Propositions

Opening: Fri, 20 July 2018, 8 pm


20 Propositions is a series of exhibitions, performances and screenings taking place over the summer in the Salzburger Kunstverein. Each project phase has its own opening event. The Sunset Kino, Austria’s only outdoor avant-garde cinema, includes seven screenings of contemporary video and film.

20 Propositions is produced in homage to the exhibition “40 Days 20 Exhibitions,” held 20 years ago in the Salzburger Kunstverein, and curated by the director then, Hildegund Amanshauser. This new version takes a different format but arises out a spirit of flux and engagement as the earlier exhibition had. Curated by current Director Séamus Kealy, 20 Propositions is also in collaboration with the Salzburg International Summer Academy, which Hildegund Amanshauser currently directs. Overall participation will include solo presentations, screenings and performances by national and international artists, including four artists lecturing at the 2018 International Salzburg Summeracademy, and guest-curated screenings.

The Overall Proposition
In order to survive, and to adjust to the speed of change and political shifts around us, we need new models of thinking, living and believing. 20 Propositions, as several parts to one whole, is considered as an unfinished series of experiments, speculations and encounters strung together. Notions of the temporary and the ephemeral are prioritized in this collaborative project. At its root the project questions notions of producing, staging and mounting exhibitions. What binds the twenty projects together is a position of incompletion, where processes of production are deliberately paused or thwarted. The project as a whole places emphasis on a promethean model of art production as actively coming into being: Everything comes out of a greater nothingness, and is thus again spirited away.

The Eleven Exhibitions

Part 1: July 20 – 29

1. Jakob Kolding (DK/DE)
2. Christiane Peschek (AT)
3. Emeka Okereke (NG)
4. Maria Legat (AT)
5. Nikola Röthemeyer & Annika Sailer (DE)

Part 2: August 1 – 12

6. Carl Johan Högberg (SE/NL)
7. Ulrike Königshofer (AT)
8. Iva Lulashi (AL/IT)

Part 3: August 15 – September 23

9. Mark Van Yetter (US)
10. Mehraneh Atashi (IR/NL)
11. Markus Wilfling (AT)

The Seven Screenings (July & August)*

1. Oisin Byrne & Gary Farrelly (IE)
2. Manu Luksch (AT), Co-Directors: Martin Reinhart (AT), Thomas Tode (DE)
3. Bjørn Melhus (DE)
4. Jan Bonny & Alex Wissel (DE)
5. Bady Minck (LU/AT)
6. Michael Snow (CA)
7. Fabrizio Terranova (BE)

The Two Performances (July 20th & August 1st)

1. Sam Keogh (IE)
2. Ei Arakawa (JP/US) with Christian Naujoks (DE) & Class

*Program details for Sunset Kino

Friendly supported by Culture Ireland and Mondriaan Fonds.

Ulrike Königshofer, Same Time. Different Time, 2017

Ulrike Königshofer, Same Time. Different Time, 2017
Photo: Courtesy of the artist